News Sports

BCCI Constitutes 3-Member Committee To Probe ‘Threats’ From Journalist To Wriddhiman Saha

The BCCI on Friday constituted a three-member committee to look into the matter of India wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha receiving ‘threats’ from a journalist.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday constituted a three-member committee to look into the matter of India wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha receiving threats and intimidation from a senior journalist. “The three member committee comprises of BCCI Vice-President Mr Rajiv Shukla, BCCI Treasurer Mr Arun Singh Dhumal and BCCI Apex Council Member Mr Prabhtej Singh Bhatia. The committee will start the proceedings as early as next week,” BCCI said in a statement. Saha, a centrally contracted cricketer, was allegedly threatened by a senior journalist for not responding to his messages asking for an interview.

BCCI said taking cognizance of the matter the apex board got in touch with Saha and decided to constitute a three-member committee to investigate the matter.

Saha on Tuesday had refused to reveal the name of the journalist who threatened him after the Indian wicketkeeper-batter was dropped from the squad against Sri Lanka.

“I haven’t received any communication from the BCCI yet. If they ask me to reveal the name (of the journalist), I would tell them it was never my intention to harm somebody’s career, to pull a person down. That’s why I didn’t reveal the name in my tweet. That’s not the teaching of my parents. The main purpose of my tweet was to expose the fact that there’s someone in the media who does such things, disrespecting a player’s wish,” Saha told The Indian Express.

“It wasn’t fair, which I wanted to tell through my tweets. He who has done it knows it very well. I posted those tweets because I didn’t want the players to face such things. I wanted to convey the message that what has been done was wrong and no one else should do it again,” he added.

Source : Ndtv Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *